An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

News | May 14, 2013

Defense Intelligence Director Honored at Ellis Island Ceremony

By DIA Public Affairs

DIA Director Lt. Gen. Michael Flynn received the Ellis Island Medal of Honor in New York May 11. The medal pays tribute to America’s unique history of diversity and honors American citizens for outstanding contributions to their communities, the nation and the world.
Flynn joined 97 others selected from several hundred nominees to receive the medal at a ceremony on Ellis Island, a landmark in the path of many American immigrants.   The general made acceptance remarks on behalf of this year’s five other active military recipients:  Navy Rear Adm. Brian Losey, Army Maj. Gen. Patrick Murphy, Coast Guard Capt. Gordon Loebl, Army Reserve Lt. Col. Dore Gilbert, and Coast Guard Lt. Steven Ortiz.
Other distinguished recipients for 2013 include Olympic gold medalist Brian Boitano, actress Mia Farrow, U.S. Rep. Peter King, American Red Cross President Gail McGovern, Super Bowl-winning NFL coach Dick Vermeil, and recording artist Dionne Warwick.

Awarded annually by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO), an organization created to showcase the exemplary diversity of the American people, the Ellis Island Medal of Honor ranks among the nation’s most prestigious awards.  Past awardees include six U.S. presidents, distinguished military leaders, Nobel Prize winners, athletes, leaders of industry and other Americans who have made freedom, liberty and compassion a part of their life’s work.

The award is officially recognized by the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Recipients are listed in the Congressional Record and military members are authorized to wear it on their uniforms.